How My Travel Game Obsession Started

Note: Please do not use the links in this post to apply as I have not verified they are the current best offers.  Offers come and go, and I don’t want you to accept less when you could easily get more!  As this blog gets up and running I intend to list the best offers I can find and update as I go.  If you cannot wait until then, please email me at pointstoparadise@gmail.com and I will try to help you find the best current link for the card you are interested in. Also, any applications are at your own risk and your mileage may vary.

Late last year I went out to lunch with someone who used their Gold Delta Skymiles American Express Card to pay the bill. We began discussing the card and its benefits and the trip they were hoping to take using it.  Up until this point I had been perfectly happy with my Blue Cash Preferred American Express  and the cash back I received with my purchases.  After that lunch I began to think about how much I wanted to travel, and how I wasn’t willing or really able to spend the massive amounts of money it would require to see the world.  I went home and began researching

the Skymiles card.  But when I found links to an old 70,000 Skymiles signup offer that was expired I decided that wasn’t the right card for me at the time. I didn’t want to apply for a measly 30,000 Delta Skymiles when someday I might be able to apply for 70,000! During my research, I came across several sites mentioning something called “the 2-browser trick” (Read more here from Million Mile Secrets) for the Citibank American Airlines Visa and American Express. This method allows you to simultaneously apply for two 50,000 AAdvantage Miles signup bonus cards and get 100,000 miles when you meet a certain minimum spend.  I was intrigued!  I began reading as much as I could online and learning the basics. (Please note, there are some reports of the two browser option not working as of last month, please read-up on it before attempting.  I will post more on this later as well).

I had always dreamt of traveling to Japan, and have had many friends who have already been and loved it.  When I came across the opportunity for 100,000 AAdvantage Miles I couldn’t wait to jump in!  But I am engineer, and I have to research things before I pull the trigger.  As I completed more research, more and more bloggers suggested multiple cards in one day.  This idea terrified me!  How would I meet the minimum spending? How would it affect my score? What happens when those cards that are “free for the first year” hit the second year? If I close the accounts will it ruin my credit? My research brought me to several bloggers who have been doing this for years, so it must be possible! I read up on the Hilton American Express and a 65,000 HHonors points offer that was expiring at the end of the month.  That expiration date is what made me pull the trigger, and mid-November of 2012 after confirming my expenses would cover the minimum spending (if you’re going to spend a lot more than normal you may as well pay for the trip!)  I completed my first mini “App-o-rama”.  I applied for the two Citibank cards and the Hilton Honors American Express all on the same day and was instantly approved.  What a rush!

And that’s how this whole adventure (read: obsession)  began…

About Rebecca

I'm an engineer who is new to the points game. Hoping to share my discoveries as I collect points to travel the world.

Leave a Reply

