My First “App-o-Rama”

Today marked my first “app-o-rama” as the pros call it. I waited 91 days and applied for five cards on the same day to prevent denial based on too many inquiries. Honestly? It was terrifying! I’ve always been auto-approved and never called a reconsideration line. Today I called three!

Deciding to go business class to Japan changed my card applications for this round. I was initially going to go for the Barclay NFL Card and get $400 back after $1000 spent! But the offer expired before I was ready to apply and is now $2500 minimum spend – and I needed to focus on United miles so I applied for the following cards:

1) United Mileage Plus – 50,000 United miles after $1000 spent plus a $50 statement credit using the link Frequent Miler mentions here. First year annual fee waived, then $95. Immediately approved.

2) Chase Ink Plus – Business card and was scary to apply for since it is rarely automatically approved and usually requires a call. Turns out my ebay sales are a business – see this great post by Million Mile Secrets. After the scary phone call (which was not really scary at all, he just asked a few simple questions and I told him my business made little money because I spent too much) I was approved! 50,000 Ultimate Rewards points (convert 1:1 to United) after $5000 spend in 3 months.$95 annual fee waived for the first year. Yes, that is a lot of spending. Yes, I have a plan – watch for a future post.

3) Citi Hilton Visa Signature – I’m not entirely sure which offer I was approved for as I was attempting to apply for the Citi Hilton Reserve and got redirected somehow. Most offers are similar – 50,000 after $1500 spend in the first 6 mo. or 40,000 after $1000. No annual fee. Good card to keep in order to help average age of accounts.

4) Citi Hilton Reserve – After being approved for the Visa when I submitted this application I saw “Approval pending.” and called Citibank. Easy call – I was immediately approved after they asked what credit limit I wanted. $95 annual fee NOT waived, but two free Hilton weekend night certificates as well as Hilton Gold status – free internet and breakfast. I would definitely pay $95 for two weekend nights at a nice Hilton, especially with Gold. This is the standard Citi Hilton Reserve offer – so choose the affliate link of the blogger you enjoy. I used Million Mile Secret’s link.

5) US Airways Dividend Miles Mastercard – My first application was lost in the void. I called the reconsideration line and they said if you apply for an expired offer you will just get a letter in the mail later without a credit pull. I applied again using a different link mentioned in by View from the Wing (the 35,000 miles after first purchase and annual fee waived) and now my application is pending. Unfortunately I called but this was after hours, so I will call again tomorrow. This offer is changing for the worse, and I wanted to apply now since AA/US are merging and this card will likely go away.

So, after two phone calls (and one I will make tomorrow) 4 / 5 cards approved!

In just about 6 months total I should have: 100,000 American AAdvantage Miles, 120,000 United (after some additional spend and converting Ultimate Rewards), two Hilton weekend night certificates, Hilton Gold status, 105,000 Hilton HHonors points and 50,000 Amex Membership Rewards points (some of which I will likely convert to Hilton at 1:2 ratio). Only out of pocket costs are gift/prepaid card fees to meet spending and $95 Citi Reserve annual fee – less the $50 United statement credit. A few months ago this seemed like something neat to try. Now I’m going to Japan!

Tags: ,

About Rebecca

I'm an engineer who is new to the points game. Hoping to share my discoveries as I collect points to travel the world.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Booking My First Rewards Trip (to Japan!) | Points to Paradise - March 20, 2013

Leave a Reply

