Citi Hilton Reserve Certificates – Changing My Plans To Avoid Disappointment

I had originally planned on booking the Japan trip using Citi Hilton Reserve Visa’s two free weekend night certificates at the Conrad Tokyo as a backup until I got the Hyatt two free nights at the Park Hyatt Tokyo set up through the Hyatt card. The Citbank certificates currently say category 1-7 hotels, but there are some reports that the free weekend night certificates will still be useable at the top tier Hilton hotels even after the category changes next week on the 28th (see my previous posts on the Hilton Honors devaluation if you’re not sure what I’m talking about). I recently met the minimum spending on the Citibank Hilton Reserve card and was issued my certificates this week. Unfortunately, they specifically say Category 1-7. I called Citibank to see if they would be updated or if I lose out and they told me to ask Hilton. I asked Hilton, who – surprise, surprise – told me to ask Citibank. So I decided to be sure and change my plans. I will no longer apply for the Hyatt card, and instead we will spend 6 straight nights at the Conrad Tokyo. I will go for the Hyatt suite nights on another trip in the future.

So I currently have two nights booked at the Conrad Tokyo using the Hilton Reserve Visa certificates from meeting the minimum spend, and four nights booked using an AXON award from having the American Express Hilton Honors card (which has no annual fee, no reason not to have this card!). We are set for 6 nights in Tokyo!!

Tags: , , ,

About Rebecca

I'm an engineer who is new to the points game. Hoping to share my discoveries as I collect points to travel the world.

Leave a Reply

