Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park

The weekend trip to Tampa all started with the idea of a one night getaway. I had 40,000 Hilton HHonors points and no plans to use them after the Hilton devaluation, so I was okay with burning them for the sake of a nice weekend. Before we decided we wanted a two night getaway and used Priceline for an awesome stay at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, I went ahead and booked one night at the Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park.

photo 1

Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park

The Hilton St. Petersburg Carillon Park is a Category 5 Hilton HHonors hotel, which was going for 40,000 points per night. It was rated 4.5 stars on tripadvisor, so I figured it would be a decent one night getaway. When I went to book our room I noticed I could get a King Bed Mini Suite room on the executive floor for only 1,759 points more so I went for it. Honestly, after our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay stay – we were disappointed.

When we had arrived at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay we were blown away by the friendliness and general helpfulness of the staff at check-in. I have no Hyatt status. As a Hilton Gold, we felt like the Hilton St. Petersburg Carillon Park staff checking us in felt like they had much better things they could be doing with their time. This experience somewhat set the tone of the stay. I have no specific complaints, everything was nice enough – but I probably wouldn’t stay there again.

Upon arrival we walked around the hotel grounds. There was a decent-sized pool area, along with a nice lake and a boardwalk over to a large bell tower across the lake.

photo 2

Bell tower across the lake from the Hilton

Our room itself was fine. Dated but very large and with a nice whirlpool tub.

Hilton St. Petersburg Carillon Park

Hilton St. Petersburg Carillon Park

It contained the standard items, but none were exciting. Space-wise both the room and bathroom were very large.

Whirlpool tub reflected in mirror

Whirlpool tub can be seen in mirror

The executive lounge only had chips and soda when we arrived on Saturday, but was open for breakfast the following morning. Again, no specific complaints – but definitely not wowed. Okay, well actually one complaint. My coffee cup wasn’t quite clean.

I wasn't wearing lipstick...

I wasn’t wearing lipstick…

Breakfast in the lounge wasn’t bad but wasn’t memorable. We actually enjoyed our recent stay at the Gainesville Hilton Garden Inn more, and the breakfast there was even slightly better.

Executive Lounge Breakfast

Executive Lounge Breakfast

To be fair I think if we had stayed here first, and then moved on to the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay we probably would have been fine with the stay. It wasn’t bad by any means. It just wasn’t even close to our stay the night before.

Tags: ,

About Rebecca

I'm an engineer who is new to the points game. Hoping to share my discoveries as I collect points to travel the world.

Leave a Reply

