Sheraton Suites Plantation Review – SPG Award Stay

Over the 4th of July I took a mini vacation in Fort Lauderdale. We stayed at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel July 3rd, but then abandoned the crowds and moved to the Sheraton Suites Plantation for the 4th. I chose this hotel for the rooftop pool – hoping to see some fireworks!

During my last app-o-rama, I chose to apply for the American Express Starwood Preferred Guest card. Due to my rookie mistake of not clearing my browser – see my post about it here – I only got 10,000 Starpoints. Turns out for the one night at the Sheraton Suites Plantation I only needed 4,000. The reason the Sheraton Suites Plantation was 4,000 points is because it is a Category 2. I wasn’t expecting anything overly fancy – I was just looking for somewhere nice to stay for the night that would allow us to see more in the area. We had gone to the beach the day before, and were more interested in exploring. Even though it was so cheap points-wise, it was fairly nice.

The lobby and front desk staff made a nice first impression as we entered and had some great recommendations. The rooms are all suites (hence the name), and gave us plenty of space.

The Living Area of the Room

The Living Area of the Room

There was a separate living area and a tv in both the bedroom and living area. The bedroom had a door to separate the rooms if necessary.

Sheraton Suites Plantation Bedroom

Sheraton Suites Plantation Bedroom

The room was nicely done, and didn’t appear overly dated or anything. We enjoyed our stay. The best part, however, was the rooftop view. I wasn’t expecting a whole lot, but figured it might be nice to try to catch some fireworks.

Daytime View From The Pool At Sheraton Suites Plantation

Daytime View From The Pool At Sheraton Suites Plantation

They actually had an event up on the roof for the 4th of July. They brought out a grill and were serving hot dogs and hamburgers and mixing drinks as well. It turned out to be very nice. The best thing about Florida is that even though the roof wasn’t that high up, the state is so flat it didn’t matter. I was able to see fireworks up and down the coast!

4th of July Fireworks

4th of July Fireworks Along The Coast

There were also some right next to the hotel which were right at eye level!

4th of July Fireworks at Sheraton Suites Plantation

4th of July Fireworks at Sheraton Suites Plantation

This trip was my first award stay through the Starwood Preferred Guest program, but I’m guessing the first of many.

A quick comment on the card I used to get this award stay: There is currently an increased bonus on the SPG American Express card until the 3rd of September. It is usually 10,000 points after first purchase, then 15,000 after $5000 in the first six months. Currently, it is 10,000 then 20,000 after the $5,000 spent. If you are new to churning and app-o-ramas, another great advantage to this card you might not be aware of is American Express backdating. When you open a new credit card through American Express, they will backdate the line of credit to the current month it is opened, but year of your first opened American Express. For example, I first opened an American Express in 2011. When I received my SPG card in May, it was actually reported as having been opened in May 2011. This increases your average age of accounts (and is great for those who would like to open many cards to take advantage of sign-up bonuses!). The other thing to note is the Starpoints transfer to many airlines, and often when you transfer 20,000 it turns into 25,000 miles. Definitely a handy card to have!

Tags: ,

About Rebecca

I'm an engineer who is new to the points game. Hoping to share my discoveries as I collect points to travel the world.

Leave a Reply

